

APPROVED SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES

DATE: Tuesday, April 7, 2020 **FROM:** 6:00 – 7:00 p.m.

Page 1 of 3

PRESENT:

Jeannine Girard-Pearlman, Interim Chair
Donna Barker
Mary Egan
Allan Freedman
Jennifer Henderson
Heather McFarlane
Carol Mieras
Aruna Mitra
Vincent Samuel
Stephanie Schurr
Teri Shackleton
Peter Shenfield
Michelle Stinson

STAFF PRESENT:

Elinor Larney, Registrar, *Chair during voting* Stamatis Kefalianos, *Manager, Regulatory Affairs, Scrutineer* Andjelina Stanier, *Executive Assistant, Scribe, Scrutineer*

REGRETS:

John-Paul Dowson

1.0 Call to Order & Land Acknowledgement

Interim Chair Jeannine Girard-Pearlman called the meeting to order at 6:06 p.m. She welcomed everyone and began by stating that in the interest of truth and reconciliation, and in the hope to build faith and trust with our Indigenous community, she reminds all present that we are gathered on the ancestral lands and waters of all Indigenous Peoples who have left their footprints on Mother Earth before us. We respectfully acknowledge those who have walked this land, who walk it now, and those future generations who have yet to walk upon it.

The Chair informed Council that with Julie Entwistle's resignation from Council, Council was convened today to elect a new president.

2.0 Approval of Council to Waive Notice Period for Meeting

As per Bylaw 11.04.2, a five-day notice period must be given prior to special meetings:

A Notice of a Special Meeting shall be given in writing to all Council members at least five days prior to the proposed date, and where possible, sent by mail, electronic mail, or similar method.

As per Bylaw 11.04.3, Council can waive the five-day notice period for special meetings:

No regular or special meeting shall be made void because of an inadvertent or accidental error or omission in giving notice. Any Council members may waive notice of a meeting and ratify, approve, and confirm any proceedings taken at the meeting.

MOVED BY: Carol Mieras

SECONDED BY: Teri Shackleton

THAT the five-day notice period be waived.

CARRIED

3.0 Conflict of Interest

The Chair asked if anyone had a conflict of interest to declare. None was reported.

4.0 Approval of Agenda

The Chair asked for changes to the agenda. None were reported.

MOVED BY: Carol Mieras

SECONDED BY: Heather McFarlane

THAT the agenda be approved as presented.

CARRIED

5.0 Elections

The Chair passed the floor to Elinor to preside over the election.

5.1 Election of President

Chair Elinor Larney stated that according to the bylaws, the Executive Committee must be composed of two professional and two public members. With two public members currently holding Executive positions, Council would be voting amongst the professional members for this vote. The Chair said she would read the slate of nominees prior to the vote and additional nominations would be accepted from the floor. A call for nominations would be made three times before declaring the nominations closed. Candidates would be invited to address Council prior to the vote. Andjelina Stanier and Stamatis Kefalianos were appointed as scrutineers.

The Chair proceeded with the election as follows:

PRESIDENT

Jennifer Henderson and Carol Mieras were nominated for the position of President. Additional nominations from the floor were received for Jeannine Girard-Pearlman and Peter Shenfield. Jeannine Girard-Pearlman accepted her nomination and Peter Shenfield declined his nomination. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. Candidates addressed Council. Ballots were completed.

Jeannine Girard-Pearlman was declared elected by majority of votes as President.

With the election of Jeannine Girard-Pearlman as President, the position of Vice President became vacant, and the Chair stated a vote would be held to elect a Vice President. With two public members currently holding Executive positions, Council would vote amongst the professional members for this vote. The Chair said she would call for nominations from the floor three times before declaring the nominations closed. Candidates would be invited to address Council prior to the vote.

VICE-PRESIDENT

Jennifer Henderson, Carol Mieras and Stephanie Schurr were nominated from the floor for the position of Vice President. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. Candidates addressed Council. Ballots were completed.

Stephanie Schurr was declared elected by majority of votes as Vice President.

5.2 Motion to Destroy Ballots

According to the bylaws, ballots from the election may only be destroyed with Council approval.

MOVED BY: Teri Shackleton SECONDED BY: Carol Mieras

THAT the ballots for the April 7, 2020 Election of Officers be destroyed.

CARRIED

Elinor passed the Chair to the newly elected President, Jeannine Girard-Pearlman.

6.0 New Business

Chair Jeannine Girard-Pearlman thanked Council for their responsiveness and participation in today's meeting given the short notice.

7.0 Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 6:48 p.m.

MOVED BY: Peter Shenfield

THAT the meeting be adjourned.

CARRIED