

College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario Ordre des ergothérapeutes de l'Ontario

COUNCIL ELECTIONS MINUTES

DATE: Thursday, March 25, 2021 TIME: 3:00 – 4:00 p.m.

Page 1 of 3

In Attendance:

MEMBERS:

Elinor Larney, Registrar, Chair, Scrutineer Paola Azzuolo Neelam Bal Donna Barker Evelyn Chau Mary Egan Allan Freedman Jeannine Girard-Pearlman Jennifer Henderson Heather McFarlane Carol Mieras Aruna Mitra Vincent Samuel Stephanie Schurr **Teri Shackleton Michelle Stinson** Sophie Xu

OBSERVERS:

Sarah Kibaalya, Ministry of Health of Ontario

STAFF:

Julie Entwistle, *Deputy Registrar* Stamatis Kefalianos, *Manager, Regulatory Affairs* Coralie Jackson, *Student OT* Nabila Mohammed, *Dir. Finance and Corporate Services* Nancy Stevenson, *Dir., Communications* Andjelina Stanier, *Executive Assistant, Scribe, Scrutineer*

REGRETS:

Michael Dauncey

1.0 Call to Order

Chair Elinor Larney called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.

2.0 Approval of Agenda

The Chair asked for changes to the agenda. None were reported.

MOVED BY: Neelam Bal SECONDED BY: Teri Shackleton

THAT the agenda be approved as presented.

CARRIED

3.0 Elections

3.1 Election of Officers

Chair Elinor Larney stated that according to the bylaws, the Executive Committee must be composed of two professional and two public members. The slate will be read prior to the vote for each position and additional nominations will be accepted from the floor. A call for nominations will be made three times before declaring the nominations closed for each position. She reminded Council that the final slate and statements of candidacy were provided to members for their review in advance of voting today. The Chair proceeded with the election as follows:

CHAIR

Jennifer Henderson and Heather McFarlane were nominated for the position of Chair of the Board. Nominations from the floor were received for Stephanie Schurr, Vincent Samuel and Allan Freedman. Vincent Samuel and Allan Freedman declined their nominations. Heather McFarlane declined her nomination. The ballot was composed of Jennifer Henderson and Stephanie Schurr. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. Ballots were completed.

Jennifer Henderson was declared elected by majority of votes, as Chair.

VICE-CHAIR

Jennifer Henderson, Heather McFarlane, Aruna Mitra, Vincent Samuel, Stephanie Schurr and Teri Shackleton were nominated for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board. Jennifer Henderson's name was removed from the slate. Teri Shackleton declined her nomination. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. Ballots were completed. A majority was not declared. Aruna Mitra, with the lowest number of votes, was removed from the ballot. The remaining candidates were Heather McFarlane, Vincent Samuel and Stephanie Schurr. Ballots were completed. A majority was not declared. Heather McFarlane, with the lowest number of votes, was removed from the ballot. The ballot was composed of Vincent Samuel and Stephanie Schurr. Ballots were completed.

Vincent Samuel was declared elected by majority of votes, as Vice-Chair.

DIRECTOR (Ballot for Public Member)

Jennifer Henderson, Heather McFarlane, Carol Mieras, Stephanie Schurr, Teri Shackleton, Vincent Samuel, Allan Freedman and Michael Dauncey were nominated for the position of Director. Jennifer Henderson and Vincent Samuel were removed from the ballot. Professional members, Heather McFarlane, Carol Mieras, Stephanie Schurr and Teri Shackleton were removed from the ballot. The ballot was composed of Public Members Allan Freedman and Michael Dauncey. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. Ballots were completed.

Allan Freedman was elected by majority of votes, as Director.

DIRECTOR (Ballot for Professional Member)

Jennifer Henderson, Heather McFarlane, Carol Mieras, Stephanie Schurr, Teri Shackleton, Vincent Samuel, Allan Freedman and Michael Dauncey were nominated for the position of Director. Jennifer Henderson, Vincent Samuel and Allan Freedman were removed from the ballot. Public Member Michael Dauncey was removed from the ballot. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. Ballots were completed. A majority was not declared. Carol Mieras, with the lowest number of votes, was removed from the ballot. The ballot was composed of Heather McFarlane, Stephanie Schurr and Teri Shackleton. Ballots were completed. A majority was not declared. Teri Shackleton, with the lowest number of votes, was removed from the ballot. The ballot was composed of Heather McFarlane and Stephanie Schurr. Ballots were completed.

Heather McFarlane was declared elected by majority of votes, as Director.

Elinor passed the chair to newly elected Chair, Jennifer Henderson.

3.2 Motion to Destroy Ballots

According to the bylaws, ballots from the election may only be destroyed with Council approval.

MOVED BY: Carol Mieras SECONDED BY: Neelam Bal

THAT the electronic ballots for the 2021 Election of Officers be destroyed.

CARRIED

4.0 New Business

4.1 Statutory Committee Form

Chair Jennifer Henderson asked members to complete their Statutory Committee Selections by means of the survey link which was sent by email today.

4.2 Annual Signing

The Chair asked members to complete their Annual Confidentiality, Code of Conduct, and Conflict of Interest forms which will be sent electronically.

5.0 Next Meetings

- Council Meeting Thursday, June 24, 2021, 9:00 a.m. 3:00 p.m. via Zoom
- Council Education Wednesday, October 27, 2021, Time and place TBD
- Council Meeting Thursday, January 27, 2022, 9:00 a.m. 3:00 p.m. Place TBD
- Council Meeting Thursday, March 24, 2022, 9:00 a.m. 3:00 p.m. Place TBD
- Council Meeting Thursday, June 23, 2022, 9:00 a.m. 3:00 p.m. Place TBD

6.0 Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m. at the call of the Chair.