

College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario Regulator of occupational therapists in Ontario

BOARD OFFICER ELECTIONS MINUTES

DATE: Thursday, March 30, 2023 **TIME:** 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

In Attendance:

DIRECTORS:

Elinor Larney, *Chair, Scrutineer* Stacey Anderson Neelam Bal Donna Barker Faiq Bilal Christine Funk Allan Freedman Elizabeth Gartner Lucy Kloosterhuis Heather McFarlane Sarah Milton Vincent Samuel Stephanie Schurr Teri Shackleton Sabrina Shaw

OTHERS:

Jennifer Henderson, Former Board Director, Scrutineer

STAFF:

Stamatis Kefalianos, *Director of Regulatory Affairs, Scrutineer* Seema Singh-Roy, *Director of Finance, People & Corporate Services* Nancy Stevenson, *Director of Communications, Scrutineer* Andjelina Stanier, *Executive Assistant, Scribe, Scrutineer*

REGRETS:

Brittany O'Brien Nick Dzudz

1.0 Call to Order and Appointment of Scrutineers

Chair Elinor Larney called the meeting to order at 2:15 p.m. Stamatis Kefalianos, Nancy Stevenson, Jennifer Henderson and Andjelina Stanier were appointed as scrutineers.

2.0 Approval of Agenda

The Chair asked for changes to the agenda. None were reported.

MOVED BY: Sabrina Shaw SECONDED BY: Elizabeth Gartner

THAT the agenda be approved as presented.

CARRIED

3.0 Elections

3.1 Election of Officers

Chair Elinor Larney reminded members that according to the bylaws, the Executive Committee must be composed of two professional and two public directors. The slate is read prior to the vote for each position and additional nominations will be accepted from the floor. A call for nominations for each position will be made three times before declaring nominations closed. The slate and statements of candidacy were provided for review prior to the election. The Chair proceeded with the election as follows:

BOARD CHAIR

Heather McFarlane, Vincent Samuel, Stephanie Schurr and Teri Shackleton were nominated for the position of Board Chair. Heather McFarlane declined her nomination and was removed from the ballot. No nominations were received from the floor, and nominations were declared closed. The ballot was composed of Vincent Samuel, Stephanie Schurr and Teri Shackleton. Votes were completed. A majority was declared.

Teri Shackleton was declared elected Board Chair by a majority of votes.

BOARD VICE-CHAIR

Neelam Bal, Allan Freedman, Heather McFarlane, Vincent Samuel, Stephanie Schurr and Teri Shackleton were nominated for Board Vice-Chair. Teri Shackleton was removed from the ballot. Vincent Samuel declined his nomination and was removed from the ballot. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. The ballot was composed of Neelam Bal, Allan Freedman, Heather McFarlane, and Stephanie Schurr. Votes were completed. A majority was not declared. Neelam Bal and Stephanie Schurr were tied with the lowest number of votes and removed from the runoff ballot. The runoff ballot was composed of Allan Freedman and Heather McFarlane. Votes were completed.

Heather McFarlane was declared elected Board Vice-Chair by a majority of votes.

BOARD OFFICER #1 (Finance)

Neelam Bal, Allan Freedman, Heather McFarlane, Sarah Milton, Vincent Samuel, Stephanie Schurr and Teri Shackleton were nominated for the position of Officer #1 (Finance). Teri Shackleton and Heather McFarlane were removed from the ballot. Remaining professional members, Neelam Bal, Sarah Milton and Stephanie Schurr were removed from the ballot. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. The ballot was composed of Public Appointees Allan Freedman and Vincent Samuel. Votes were completed.

Allan Freedman was declared elected Board Officer #1 (Finance) by a majority of votes.

BOARD OFFICER #2

Public member Vincent Samuel remained on the ballot. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. The vote was not completed.

Page 3 of 3

Vincent Samuel was declared elected by acclamation as Board Officer #2.

Elinor passed the chair to newly elected Board Chair, Teri Shackleton

3.2 Motion to Destroy Ballots

Chair Teri Shackleton stated that according to College bylaws, ballots from the election shall be destroyed with Board approval.

MOVED BY: Heather McFarlane SECONDED BY: Neelam Bal

THAT the ballots for the 2023 Election of Officers be destroyed.

CARRIED

4.0 New Business

4.1 Annual Signing

Chair Teri Shackleton asked members to complete the Confidentiality, Code of Conduct, and Conflict of Interest forms which will be sent electronically following the meeting.

5.0 Next Meetings

The 2023-2024 meetings were confirmed as follows:

- Board Ed. Session: Wednesday, October 25, 2023, 9:00 a.m. 4:00 p.m. (Location TBD)
- Board Meeting: Thursday, October 26, 2023, 9:00 a.m. 3:30 p.m. (at COTO)
- Board Meeting: Thursday, January 25, 2024, 9:00 a.m. 3:30 p.m. (at COTO)
- Board Meeting: Thursday, April 4, 2024, 9:00 a.m. 4:00 p.m. (at COTO)
- Board Meeting: Thursday, June 20, 2024, 9:00 a.m. 3:30 p.m. (at COTO)

6.0 Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:36 p.m.

MOVED BY: Donna Barker

THAT the meeting be adjourned.

CARRIED