Introducing Your Newest College Council Members

March 07, 2018
Thank you for voting! The polls have closed, and the results are in:

Congratulations to Teri Shackleton and Stephanie Schurr who have been elected in Districts 3 and 6 as the new College Council members. Both Teri and Stephanie will begin their three-year terms in March 2018.

Teri has been elected as the new Council member in District 3 (London, Windsor, and Essex, Bruce, Grey, Chatham-Kent, Lambton, Elgin, Middlesex, Oxford, Huron and Perth areas). She is a full-time clinician and has practiced as an OT in both academic and community settings. Teri's recent leadership roles and experience as Clinical Lead for the Southwest LHIN Rehabilitative Care Bedded Definition Project, and as a Board Director for the Ontario Society of Occupational Therapists, will provide a strong foundation for her new role on Council.

Stephanie is the newly elected Council member in District 6 (Kenora, Rainy River and Thunder Bay areas) and brings a range of experience in clinical areas with both physical and mental health. Although her professional experience is exclusively with adolescents and adults, she has also worked for the well-being of children through her volunteer activities with Children's Aid Thunder Bay and Precious Bundles.

We are thankful to all the candidates who put their names forward to stand for election and would like to express our appreciation for their hard work, dedication, and interest in representing the public on Council.

The Council sets the strategy for the College and makes decisions to ensure the public receives ethical, competent care from Ontario's OTs. Members of the Council represent the public interest in decision-making. The Council is made up of members of the occupational therapy profession and members of the public who are appointed by the Ontario government.

All Council meetings are open to the public. Learn more about the work of College Council.