

# **BOARD OFFICER ELECTIONS MINUTES**

**DATE:** Thursday, March 27, 2025 **TIME:** 1:20 p.m. – 2:15 p.m.

In Attendance:

DIRECTORS:

Neelam Bal, *Co-Chair* Stacey Anderson

Mary Egan

Allan Freedman Christine Funk

. Luay Maaatarbuia

Lucy Kloosterhuis

Thuy Luong
Adrian Malcolm
Julie Reinhart

Vincent Samuel Tina Siemens

**REGRETS:** 

Nick Dzudz Pathik Shukla **SCRUTINEERS:** 

Jennifer Henderson, *Nominations Committee Chair* Nancy Stevenson, *Director of Communications* 

STAFF:

Elinor Larney, *Registrar & CEO, Co-Chair*Stamatis Kefalianos, *Director of Regulatory Affairs*Andjelina Stanier, *Executive Assistant, Scribe* 

Kim Woodland, Director of Programs

## 1.0 Call to Order and Appointment of Scrutineers

Chair Elinor Larney called the meeting to order at 1:21 p.m. Jennifer Henderson and Nancy Stevenson were put forward to serve as scrutineers.

MOVED BY: Adrian Malcolm SECONDED BY: Tina Siemens

**THAT** the Board appoint Jennifer Henderson and Nancy Stevenson as scrutineers.

## **CARRIED**

### 2.0 Approval of Agenda

Chair Elinor Larney called for changes to the agenda. No changes were made

MOVED BY: Neelam Bal

SECONDED BY: Stacey Anderson

**THAT** the agenda be approved as presented.

**CARRIED** 

## 3.0 Election of Officers & Appointment of Scrutineers

#### 3.1 Election of Officers

The Chair reminded members that the slate of candidates and statements of candidacy were circulated for review prior to the election today. She stated that according to the bylaws, the Executive Committee must be comprised of two professional and two public Directors. She further stated that the slate will be read prior to the vote for each position and additional nominations will be accepted from the floor. A call for nominations from the floor for each position will be made three times and then nominations will be declared closed. Voting proceeded as follows:

### **BOARD CHAIR**

Neelam Bal, and Julie Reinhart were nominated for the position of Board Chair. No nominations were received from the floor, and nominations were declared closed. The ballot was comprised of Neelam Bal and Julie Reinhart. Votes were completed. A majority was declared.

Neelam Bal was declared elected Board Chair, by a majority of votes.

#### **BOARD VICE-CHAIR**

Stacey Anderson, Neelam Bal, Julie Reinhart and Tina Siemens were nominated for the position of Board Vice-Chair. Neelam Bal was removed from the ballot. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. The ballot was comprised of Stacey Anderson, Julie Reinhart and Tina Siemens. Votes were completed. A majority was not declared. Julie Reinhart was removed from the runoff ballot having received the lowest number of votes. The runoff ballot was comprised of Stacey Anderson and Tina Siemens. Votes were completed. A majority was declared.

Stacey Anderson was declared elected Board Vice-Chair, by a majority of votes.

## **BOARD OFFICER #1 - Finance**

Stacey Anderson, Neelam Bal, Allan Freedman, Lucy Kloosterhuis, Julie Reinhart, Vincent Samuel, and Tina Siemens were nominated for the position of Officer #1 - Finance. Neelam Bal and Stacey Anderson were removed from the ballot. Professional Directors, Julie Reinhart and Tina Siemens were removed from the ballot. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. The ballot was comprised of Public Directors Allan Freedman, Lucy Kloosterhuis, and Vincent Samuel. Votes were completed. A majority was declared.

Allan Freedman was declared elected Board Officer #1 – Finance, by a majority of votes.

## **BOARD OFFICER #2**

Public Directors, Lucy Kloosterhuis and Vincent Samuel remained eligible on the ballot for the position of Officer #2. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. The vote was completed. A majority was declared.

# Lucy Kloosterhuis was declared elected Board Officer #2, by a majority of votes.

### 3.2 Motion to Destroy Ballots

Chair Elinor Larney stated that according to College Bylaws, ballots from the election are to be destroyed by Board approval.

MOVED BY: Tina Siemens

SECONDED BY: Lucy Kloosterhuis

THAT the ballots for the 2025 Election of Officers be destroyed.

#### **CARRIED**

Chair Elinor Larney passed the chair to newly re-elected Board Chair, Neelam Bal.

## 4.0 New Business - Newly re-elected Board Chair, Neelam Bal, presiding.

Following the election of officers, Chair Neelam Bal called for a short break to finalize the list for the 2025-2026 Committee appointments.

## 4.1 Committee Appointments & Composition

The draft list of chairs and composition of committees for 2025-2026 was presented to the Board for consideration. A recommendation was made to appoint an additional Board member to the Succession Planning Committee; Tina Simens volunteered for this appointment.

MOVED BY: Allen Freedman SECONDED BY: Stacey Anderson

THAT the Board appoint an additional Board member to the Succession Planning Committee.

## CARRIED

MOVED BY: Thuy Luong

SECONDED BY: Stacey Anderson

**THAT** the Board approve the 2025-2026 chair appointments and composition of committees as recommended by the Nominations Committee.

### **CARRIED**

### 4.2 Annual Signing

Chair Neelam Bal asked members to complete the Confidentiality, Code of Conduct, and Conflict of Interest forms which were sent electronically earlier in the day.

### 5.0 Next Meetings

The 2025-2026 meeting dates were set as follows:

Board Education Session: Wednesday, October 29, 2025, 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m., location TBD

Page 4 of 4

- Board Meeting: Thursday, October 30, 2025, 9:00 a.m. 3:30 p.m., at the College
- Board Meeting: Thursday, January 29, 2026, 9:00 a.m. 3:30 p.m., at the College
- Board Meeting: Thursday, March 26, 2026, 9:00 a.m. 4:00 p.m., at the College
- Board Meeting: Thursday, June 18, 2026, 9:00 a.m. 3:30 p.m., at the College

# 6.0 Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:16 p.m.

MOVED BY: Allan Freedman

**THAT** the meeting be adjourned.

**CARRIED**