What are the roles and powers of the College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario? Every health regulatory college has its own legal framework for governing its profession.

The College's role and mandate is established in law by the Government of Ontario. Under Ontario law, 28 health professions, including occupational therapists, doctors, nurses, pharmacists and more, are able to self-regulate. Health regulatory Colleges carry out that authority, acting in the public interest.

Learn about the provincial legislation that has an impact on the practice of occupational therapy in Ontario, the regulations that occupational therapy professionals must follow, and the most current bylaws of the College.


The Occupational Therapy Act, 1991 and the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 (RHPA) determine how the occupational therapy profession is regulated in Ontario.

The Occupational Therapy Act, 1991 contains a scope of practice statement, as well as provisions and regulations specific to the occupational therapy profession. It includes entry-to-practice and title protection regulations.

The Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 contains provisions regarding permitted actions and processes that are applicable to all regulated health professionals in Ontario.

Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 (RHPA)

Occupational Therapy Act, 1991

Personal Health Information Protection Act, 2004 (PHIPA)


Regulations that govern the occupational therapy profession are made under both the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 and the Occupational Therapy Act, 1991.

Ontario Regulation 226/96: General

Ontario Regulation 95/07: Professional Misconduct

Ontario Regulation 474/19: Controlled Acts


The College’s bylaws are the rules that govern how the College operates. Government legislation authorizes the Board of Directors to make bylaws related to the College's governance (for example, committee structure, appointments and elections), administration and regulatory functions.  

2021 Bylaws (English, French)

*Effective April 1, 2021, the College Council will be referred to as the Board or Board of Directors. This change is reflected in the College bylaws.