The College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario is accountable to the public through its Board of Directors. The Board sets the strategy and policy direction for the College. It makes decisions to ensure the public receives ethical, competent care from Ontario’s occupational therapists. Based on the Board's direction, a staff team led by a Registrar carries out the College’s day-to-day work.

Meetings of the Board of Directors are open to the public.

*Effective April 1, 2021, the College Council will be referred to as the Board or Board of Directors. This change is reflected in the College bylaws.

Board Directors

There are three kinds of Board Directors:

Elected Directors: These directors are registrants (occupational therapists registered with the College) who are elected to the Board by their peers. Being on the Board gives occupational therapists rewarding opportunities to contribute to both public protection and the future of the profession.

Public Directors: These directors are appointed by the provincial government. Learn how to apply for appointment as a public director.

Academic Appointees: These academic professionals are appointed by the Chairs of the occupational therapy programs at five Ontario universities.

Directors are expected to attend four full-day Board meetings every year and serve on at least one regulatory committee.

Board Competency Framework

The Board of Directors sets the College’s strategic direction. Together, its members are accountable for the College’s good governance and its mandate of public protection. Fulfilling these roles requires that Directors have the optimal mix of skills, expertise, and experiences.

This Board competency framework represents the ideal composition of the Board. It recognizes that the Board and its committees need to reflect the diverse populations that use occupational therapy services in Ontario. This diversity includes culture, gender, race, age, geographical setting, and practice setting. View the Board competency framework.

2021–2022 Board of Directors 

Read more about the College's Board of Directors...

Read less...

Elected Directors

Paola Azzuolo
Neelam Bal
Jennifer Henderson (Chair)
Heather McFarlane
Carol Mieras
Aruna Mitra
Stephanie Schurr
Teri Shackleton
Michelle Stinson

Public Directors

Michael Dauncey
Nicholas Dzudz
Allan Freedman
Brittany O'brien
Vincent Samuel (Vice-Chair)

Academic Appointees

Donna Barker
Mary Egan


The College’s committee structure organizes the committees into two types: regulatory, which are also known as statutory, and Board committees.

Read more about Committees...

Read less...

Regulatory Committees

These are committees that the law requires the College have to support the core regulatory functions of the Board. Each Committee includes a mix of elected and public Directors, and professional committee appointees. In addition, the Board has also created sub-committees as needed.

Executive Committee
For matters that need to be dealt with right away, the Executive Committee has all the powers of the Board between Board meetings. However, the Executive Committee cannot make, amend, or revoke a regulation or bylaw. 

Inquiries, Complaints & Reports Committee
This Committee reviews concerns about an occupational therapist’s practice that have been brought to the attention of the College.

Patient Relations Committee
This Committee develops and oversees the Patient Relations Program. Core elements of the program include:

development of standards of practice for registrants
educating the profession, Board and staff about sexual abuse, conflict of interest, and professional boundaries
informing the public about these issues
administering the Sexual Abuse Therapy and Counselling Fund

Quality Assurance Committee
This Committee develops Quality Assurance policies and educational programs. This is to ensure occupational therapists who are registered with the College continue to be competent and keep abreast of developments in their field.

Registration Committee
The Registration Committee establishes and maintains the rules for registering with the College. It creates new policies for registration and reviews and revises existing policies. The Registration Committee also reviews applications referred by the Registrar. The Committee gives written decisions with reasons on how the application will be treated.

Discipline Committee
The Discipline Committee holds hearings when cases are referred to it that allege an occupational therapist is guilty of professional misconduct or incompetence.

Fitness to Practise Committee
The Fitness to Practise Committee holds hearings to decide if an occupational therapist has physical or mental problems that make them unfit to practise.

The College has two non-statutory sub-committees: Practice and Quality Assurance.

Board Committees

Board Committees allow the College’s Board to effectively address the diverse areas of its mandate. Each Committee is composed of a mix of Board Directors and Community Appointees who focus on a particular area and bring forward recommendations to the Board.

Finance, Audit and Risk Committee
The Finance and Audit and Risk Management Committees assist the Board of the College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario in fulfilling its obligations and oversight responsibilities relating to financial planning and reporting, external audit, internal control systems, investments, and risk management.

Governance Committee
The Governance Committee is responsible for overseeing governance reform to enhance the quality of the Board of the College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario’s work through best governance practices.

To learn more about the College’s Board of Directors and Committees, please contact:

Elinor Larney, Registrar,; or
Andjelina Stanier, Executive Assistant - Executive Office,