Below is a list of programs and resources available to the public. If you have any questions or concerns please contact us by email at info@coto.org or by phone at 1.800.890.6570.

For questions about occupational therapy practice, our Practice Resource Service can be reached at practice@coto.org or 1.800.890.6570 x240.

Abuse

Assaulted Women's Helpline: awhl.org/home - 1.866.863.0511
ReportON - Report abuse or neglect of adults with developmental disabilities: ontario.ca/reportON
Seniors Safety Line: elderabuseontario.com - 1.866.299.1011
Sexual Assault/Domestic Violence Treatment Centres: satcontario.com
ShelterSafe - Connects women to the nearest shelter: sheltersafe.ca

Addiction and Mental Health

Togetherall - online mental health and wellbeing service: togetherall.ca
ConnexOntario - mental health and addiction services information: connexontario.ca - 1.866.531.2600
Crisis Services Canada - suicide prevention: crisisservicescanada.ca - 1.833.456.4566 or text 45645
Kids Help Phone: kidshelpphone.ca - 1.800.668.6868

Indigenous

First Nations and Inuit Hope for Wellness Help Line: hopeforwellness.ca - 1.855.242.3310
National Indian Residential School Survivors and Family Hotline: 1.866.925.4419
Native Youth 24/7 Crisis Hotline: 1.877.209.1266
Talk4Healing - Confidential helpline for Indigenous women: talk4healing.com - 1.855.554.4325

Legal

Canadian Health Care Anti-Fraud Association: clhia.ca/antifraud
Community Legal Education Ontario cleo.on.ca
Criminal Injuries Compensation Board: sjto.gov.on.ca/cicb
Law Society Referral Service: lawsocietyreferralservice.ca
Legal Aid Ontario: legalaid.on.ca
Office of the Independent Police Review Director: oiprd.on.ca
Social Justice Tribunals Ontario: sjto.gov.on.ca
Victim Services Directory: services.findhelp.ca/ovss

Patients and Caregivers

Canadian Patient Safety Institute: patientsafetyinstitute.ca
Choosing Wisely: choosingwiselycanada.org
Ontario Caregiver Organization and Hotline: ontariocaregiver.ca - 1.833.416.2273
Patients Canada: patientscanada.ca 
Patient Ombudsman: patientombudsman.ca
Accessible Communications During COVID-19 and Other Emergencies: A Guideline for Persons with Disabilities

Ontario Ministries, Agencies and Services

211 Ontario: 211ontario.ca
Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care: health.gov.on.ca
Ontario Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services: ontario.ca/socialservices
Ontario Ministry of Education: edu.gov.on.ca/
Ontario Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities: ontario.ca/tcu
Ontario Ministry for Seniors and Accessibility: ontario.ca/msaa
Health Professions Appeal and Review Board: hparb.on.ca
Ontario Ombudsman: ombudsman.on.ca
Ontario Review Board: orb.on.ca
Improving Health Care in Ontario: ontario.ca/page/improving-health-care-ontario
Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario: ipc.on.ca
Office of the Fairness Commissioner: fairnesscommissioner.ca
Assistive Devices Program: ontario.ca/page/assistive-devices-program
Connected Care: ontario.ca/connectedcare
Ontario Local Health Integration Network (LHIN) lhins.on.ca
Ontario Telemedicine Network (OTN) - Virtual Care: otn.ca/patients
Public Health Ontario: publichealthontario.ca
Telehealth Ontario: ontario.ca/page/get-medical-advice-telehealth-ontario - 1.866.797.0000

Federal Ministries and Services

Health Canada: hc-sc.gc.ca
Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada: priv.gc.ca
Service Canada: servicecanada.gc.ca

Regulators

Ontario Health Regulators: ontariohealthregulators.ca
Ontario Regulators for Access Consortium: regulatorsforaccess.ca
Health Professions Regulatory Advisory Council: hprac.org

Occupational Therapist Practice and Professional Development

Allied Health Professional Development Fund (AHPDF): ahpdf.ca
Bridge to Registration and Employment in Mental Health: brem.bridgingprograms.org
Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists: caot.ca
Health Force Ontario: healthforceontario.ca
Health Quality Ontario: hqontario.ca
Ontario Society of Occupational Therapists: osot.on.ca


Understanding Consent
Information for patients, clients and caregivers


Read the Understanding Consent information and learn more